Alexander brothers sentenced to 30 years each in New York sex-trafficking case
Alon, Oren and Tal Alexander were each sentenced to 30 years in federal prison on Tuesday 27 October 2026 by Judge Valerie E. Caproni in New York, according to the US Attorney for the Southern District of New York. The three brothers were convicted on 9 March 2026, after a six-week trial, of multiple federal sex offences including conspiracy to commit sex trafficking. Each was also sentenced to 10 years of supervised release.

Key points
- Each brother — Alon, 39, Oren, 39, and Tal, 40, all of Miami, Florida — received 30 years in prison plus 10 years of supervised release, per the US Attorney (SDNY).
- They were convicted on 9 March 2026 after a six-week trial of multiple federal sex offences, including conspiracy to commit sex trafficking.
- Prosecutors had sought life sentences; the defence had sought the 15-year minimum, per The Wall Street Journal's report of the hearing.
What happened
The sentencing in Manhattan federal court closes the trial phase of a case that the US Attorney's office describes as a yearslong sex trafficking scheme, running from at least 2008 to at least 2021, which victimised numerous women and minors. Oren and Tal Alexander were prominent agents in ultra-luxury real estate in New York and Miami; Alon Alexander's individual counts are listed in the US Attorney's release alongside his brothers'.
US Attorney Jamie McDonald said in the announcement that the defendants 'preyed on women and young girls, using drugs and violence to incapacitate them', and thanked the victims who came forward. At the hearing, as reported by The Wall Street Journal, Oren Alexander maintained that the brothers had never drugged and raped anyone — a denial Vozia reports as his stated position, against the jury's conviction and the sentence imposed.
Claim by claim
Why this label: From the sentencing announcement by the US Attorney for the Southern District of New York — the prosecuting office in the case — read in full for this brief. The Guardian reports the same 30-year sentences.
On the ladder: a claim earns Verified from primary evidence, or from two independent sources that do not copy each other.
Why this label: The conviction and trial length are stated in the US Attorney's sentencing announcement. Vozia reports the court's verdict and sentence, not the underlying allegations as its own findings.
On the ladder: a claim earns Verified from primary evidence, or from two independent sources that do not copy each other.
Why this label: This is the prosecution's account as presented at trial and summarised by the US Attorney's office after conviction — attributed to that office here, in its own framing ('according to the Superseding Indictment, public court filings, and evidence presented at trial'). Graphic detail from the release is not repeated in this brief.
On the ladder: a claim earns Verified from primary evidence, or from two independent sources that do not copy each other.
Show all claims (1 more)
Why this label: The positions stated at the hearing, as reported by The Wall Street Journal: prosecutors sought life, defence lawyers argued 15 years was sufficient, and Oren Alexander maintained the brothers' denial while regretting how he had spoken about women. The denial is reported as his stated position; it does not change the jury's conviction or the sentence.
On the ladder: a claim earns Verified from primary evidence, or from two independent sources that do not copy each other.
What we know / what we don't know yet
What we know
- The sentences themselves — 30 years in prison and 10 years of supervised release for each brother — are from the US Attorney's own announcement of Judge Caproni's sentence, cross-checked against the Guardian and the Wall Street Journal.
What we don't know yet
- Whether the brothers will appeal, and any appeal timetable — not stated in the US Attorney's announcement checked for this brief.
- The prison or prisons where each brother will serve the sentence — not stated in the announcement.
Why it matters
The case turned on whether wealth and status in one of the world's most visible luxury property markets could shield predatory crime for more than a decade. A sentence of 30 years for each brother — against a prosecution request for life and a defence request for the 15-year minimum — is the court's answer, and the US Attorney's announcement credits the victims who testified with making it possible.
Update history
No silent edits. Every change is written here, with its time.
- Latest
Story published as a confirmed brief, based on the US Attorney for the Southern District of New York's own sentencing announcement, cross-checked against the Guardian and The Wall Street Journal.