Gunman kills a woman at a Tampa-area Citibank campus before a security guard shoots him dead, sheriff's office says
A gunman drove through a fence into the Citibank Center campus in Brandon, outside Tampa, Florida, at lunchtime on Wednesday 4 November 2026 and fatally shot a woman in an outdoor seating area with a rifle, the Hillsborough County Sheriff's Office said. An armed Citibank security guard confronted him in the cafeteria minutes later and shot him in an exchange of fire; the gunman died in hospital. The guard was injured and at least four other people were treated for non-life-threatening injuries, and more than 3,000 employees were evacuated. The sheriff calls the shooting a targeted incident; the identities of the woman and the gunman, and any motive, have not been released.

Checking in progress
This story is still being checked. Claims below are published as claims — never dressed as facts — and each one moves only when the evidence earns it.
- Collecting reportsDone
- Grouping the versionsDone
- 3Checking claims3 of 4 claims checked
- 4Human gateStill to come
3 of 4 claims checked so far · step 3 of 4: Checking claims
Key points
- A gunman drove into the Citibank Center campus in Brandon, Florida, at lunchtime on Wednesday 4 November and fatally shot a woman in an outdoor seating area, the sheriff's office said.
- An armed Citibank security guard shot the gunman in an exchange of fire in the cafeteria minutes later; the gunman died in hospital.
- The guard was injured and at least four others were treated for non-life-threatening injuries; more than 3,000 employees were evacuated.
- The sheriff calls it a targeted incident; the identities and the motive have not been released.
What happened
The Citibank Center is one of the banking group's largest US campuses — a sprawling office complex in Brandon's business parks, about nine miles northeast of downtown Tampa, with thousands of staff on site on a normal weekday. The attack, at the lunch hour and in an outdoor dining area, was over within minutes: the first deputies arrived a minute after the first calls, and the guard's confrontation in the cafeteria ended it before the room-to-room sweeps that followed found anyone else.
Claim by claim
Why this label: Verified as the sheriff's office's account: Chief Deputy Frank Losat's press-conference account is reported in matching terms by CNN, USA Today and Tampa Bay 28 (all read in this run), and the AP report carried in the queue states the same core facts. The account is the investigating authority's; no independent reconstruction exists yet, which is why the headline attributes it to the sheriff's office.
On the ladder: a claim earns Verified from primary evidence, or from two independent sources that do not copy each other.
Why this label: The toll and the injury figures are the sheriff's office's, reported by CNN and Tampa Bay 28 in agreement; the unresolved cause of the four injuries is stated on the face of the claim, from Tampa Bay 28's report of the press conference. The woman's employer is reported differently — Citi's chief executive Jane Fraser said in a statement the victim was a Citi employee (via CNN), while law-enforcement sources told the New York Post she worked for a vendor at the site — so this page does not state her employer.
On the ladder: a claim earns Verified from primary evidence, or from two independent sources that do not copy each other.
Why this label: The evacuation scale and the deputy count are the sheriff's office's own figures via Tampa Bay 28 and USA Today (CNN reports 'more than 300 law enforcement officers' and 'thousands evacuated' in the same terms). 'Targeted' is the sheriff's characterisation of the incident, carried as his stated position — the office has published no evidence for it yet, and the motive is in the don't-know list.
On the ladder: a claim earns Verified from primary evidence, or from two independent sources that do not copy each other.
Show all claims (1 more)
Why this label: The gap is documented by the reporting itself: USA Today records that police 'have not yet released the identity of the woman killed or the shooting suspect' and that a motive 'remained under investigation'. Under the facts-available-only rule this page publishes the verified sequence and carries the identities and motive here, unnamed, until the sheriff's office releases them.
On the ladder: the evidence so far sits low — early, single or social sources. We publish the claim as a claim, never as fact.
What we know / what we don't know yet
What we know
- The sequence, the toll and the response scale, from the Hillsborough County Sheriff's Office's press conferences as reported by CNN, USA Today, Tampa Bay 28 and AP in agreement.
What we don't know yet
- The identities of the woman killed and of the gunman — neither has been released by the sheriff's office.
- The motive, and whether the gunman and the woman knew each other — under investigation; the sheriff's 'targeted' description is his characterisation, with no published evidence yet.
- How the four other injured people were hurt — by gunfire, the vehicle or otherwise; investigators had not established it by Wednesday afternoon.
Show more (1)
- The security guard's condition beyond 'injured' — no hospital update was read in this run.
Why it matters
A workplace shooting at one of Florida's largest corporate campuses — stopped, on the sheriff's account, by the site's own armed guard within four minutes of the first calls — will feed directly into the American argument about armed security at work, and into Citibank's own review of how a car could be driven into a secured campus at the lunch hour.
Update history
No silent edits. Every change is written here, with its time.
- Latest
Story published in Checking state as a brief from queue MANUAL 1607 (the AP summary item), worked from the Hillsborough County Sheriff's Office's press conferences as reported by CNN, USA Today and Tampa Bay 28, all read in this run. JUDGE AUDIT: headline, slug, SEO title and summary state the same outcome and attribute it to the sheriff's office; every number traces to the sheriff's figures as reported (12:11pm first calls, 12:15pm cafeteria exchange, 367 deputies, ~3,200 on site); the 'targeted' description is carried as the sheriff's stated position with the motive in the don't-know list; the reports' one material disagreement — the dead woman's employer — is disclosed in the casualty claim's note and her employer is not stated. No official video was oEmbed-verified, so none is attached. The hero is a labelled Tampa file photo, with the caption noting the campus is in Brandon.